Praying The Scriptures

Focal Passage:

Heal me, O Lord, and I shall be healed;

Save me, and I shall be saved,

For You are my praise.

Indeed they say to me,

“Where is the word of the Lord?

Let it come now!”

As for me, I have not hurried away from being a shepherd who follows You,

Nor have I desired the woeful day;

You know what came out of my lips;

It was right there before You.

Do not be a terror to me;

You are my hope in the day of doom.

Jer. 17:13-17

Matthew Henry says of this prayer: “It is a matter of comfort that we have a God, to whose knowledge of all things we may appeal. Jeremiah pleads with God for mercy and relief against his enemies, persecutors, and slanderers. It will be a comfort to God’s ministers when men despise them if they have the testimony of their own consciences. But he complains that he found little pleasure in his work. Some good people lose much of the pleasantness of religion by the fretfulness and uneasiness of their natural temper, which they indulge. The Lord called the prophet to cease from his distrust, and to return to his work. If he attended thereto, he might be assured the Lord would deliver him from his enemies. Those who are with God, and faithful to him, he will deliver from trouble or carry through it. Many things appear frightful, which do not at all hurt a real believer in Christ.”

About B. James Wilson

B. James Wilson is an author, artist, teacher, and student of the Bible. He lives with his wife and family on Florida’s East Coast, where he serves in ministry and writes a variety of history and Bible-based fiction.
This entry was posted in Praying The Way and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment