The Word – Hold

The Word:

hold

verb

ˈhōld 

held ˈheld  ; holding

Synonyms of hold

transitive verb

1a: to have possession or ownership of or have at one’s disposal – he holds property worth millions –

  b: to have as a privilege or position of responsibility –

  c: to have as a mark of distinction –

2: to keep under restraint – “Deliver those who are drawn toward death, And hold back those stumbling to the slaughter.” Proverbs 24:11

3: to make liable or accountable or bound to an obligation – “For if you carefully keep all these commandments which I command you to do—to love the LORD your God, to walk in all His ways, and to hold fast to Him—” Deuteronomy 11:22

4a: to have or maintain in the grasp – hold my hand

 

Focal Passage:

“Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will hold on to you with My righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 41:10

God Pursues a Love Relationship

God’s “righteous right hand” is symbolic of the power that formed the universe and the strength that holds it together. It is an object of great fear and destruction to God’s enemies, but to those who love Him it is a fortress of help and strength. God promises to lovingly hold us in His righteous right hand. When we are walking with Him, His hold on us is warm and gentle, hardly noticeable, like a father’s hold on his toddler’s hand. When the toddler tries to pull away, especially when there is danger present, he or she will feel the father’s grip tighten. At times it may seem possessive, or even tyrannical, but, would a father let go? Would a loving father allow his child to run into a busy street? Neither will your Father in Heaven let you go. Jesus says, “My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand. My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of My Father’s hand. I and My Father are one.” John 10:26-30

We who believe, who love the Lord our God, we who have been born again and follow Jesus, are also One with Him. He holds us in His loving and righteous right hand. He will never let us go before we reach the maturity of Heaven. Only then, when we have learned to be One with the Father, as Jesus is One with Him, will we be set free in our Father’s eternal Kingdom.

Prayer:

Father: I pray that You will make Your presence known to us each day by the hold You keep on us. Hold gently when we are walking with You, Father, and restrain us when we try to wander away. We lift our hearts to You in praise and worship, Lord. We pray the touch of Your righteous right hand in Jesus’ Precious Name. Amen.

About B. James Wilson

B. James Wilson is an author, artist, teacher, and student of the Bible. He lives with his wife and family on Florida’s East Coast, where he serves in ministry and writes a variety of history and Bible-based fiction.
This entry was posted in Experiencing God, The Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment