The Word – Gladly

The Word:

glad

adjective

ˈglad 

gladder; gladdest

Synonyms of glad

1a: experiencing pleasure, joy, or delight : made happy

b: very willing – glad to do it

c: made pleased, satisfied, or grateful — often used with of – was glad of their help

2a: marked by, expressive of, or caused by happiness and joy – a glad shout

b: causing happiness and joy : PLEASANT – glad tidings

3: full of brightness and cheerfulness – a glad spring morning

4archaic : having a cheerful or happy disposition by nature

gladly adverb

gladness noun

The Songs of an Ancient Faith:

“Praise the Savior, ye who know Him;

Who can tell how much we owe Him?

Gladly let us render to Him

All we are and have.

The God of Abraham praise,

Who reigns enthroned above;

Ancient of everlasting days

And God of love.

All the way My Savior leads me,

What have I to ask beside?

Can I doubt His tender mercy

Who through life has been my guide?

The Lord’s My Shepherd, I’ll not want.

He makes me down to lie,

In pastures green. He leadeth me

The quiet waters by.

My soul He doth restore again;

And me to walk doth make,

Within the paths of righteousness

Ev’n for His own Name’s Sake.”

Lyrics by, Thomas Kelly

Praise the Savior, Ye Who Know Him

Prayer:

Lord God: thank you Father for every inspiration you give us. Thank You for the glad sound of music that praises You by the blood of our Savior, Jesus Christ. Amen.

About B. James Wilson

B. James Wilson is an author, artist, teacher, and student of the Bible. He lives with his wife and family on Florida’s East Coast, where he serves in ministry and writes a variety of history and Bible-based fiction.
This entry was posted in The Word and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment