This Valentine’s Day Beware a Cold Heart

heart-of-christ-webI was saved in a Baptist church and blessed to find myself under the tutelage of one of the finest Bible scholars I have ever heard. In that atmosphere, as a young Christian, I was happy to accept whatever doctrine was advised to me, not only by my mentor, but also by those good Baptists who surrounded me in fellowship. As a Southern Baptist, I was committed to live and die by the Southern Baptist Faith and Message. Understand that I did not follow that doctrine blindly, those who know me, know that the very idea of me following blindly is laughable. I read the Faith and Message to near memorization and I dug into the Bible with the conviction of a monk.

I accepted Southern Baptist doctrine because it made perfect sense to me… in theory, at least. It took a number of years for me to recognize that, in practice, there was a great deal of error. When the SBC changed the Faith and Message in June of 2000, adopting an exclusionary doctrine that was clearly errant and elitist, I left the confines of that fortress to “Go” into the world and seek the Kingdom of God. In the course of my search, I have rejected the model of denominational Christianity and the institutional church altogether. I find that, like all of the institutions of men, the model is broken beyond repair. I am convinced that God will soon and undeniably support my claim, for I am not alone in hearing God’s voice in the rapidly changing flood of circumstances that have come upon us.

One of the things that troubled me most within the walls of the fortress church was the tendency toward Phariseeism, a need to separate ourselves from the world based on a misunderstanding of scripture. That tendency creates an “us vs. them” view of the world that ignores the church’s true mission. In addition, the “us vs. them” worldview engenders legalism and the idea that the solutions to our nation’s problems are political, rather than spiritual. Because of this view, false prophets have entered the fellowship, “wolves in sheep’s clothing,” bringing with them the most dangerous religious thinking on earth, the worldview of Utopianism, an elitist doctrine that says, in effect, “You’re doing it wrong. Do it my way and together we can make a perfect world.”

It is the kind of thinking that, on any scale has failed over and over in the past while, on a grand scale has been responsible for great violence and suffering in the world. It is a worldview based on a doctrine that believes the end, a perfect, utopian society, justifies any means necessary to accomplish the goal.

Look around you today, look into history, and see the prevalence of Utopian theory and the dark consequences of its practice. It is Utopian Elitism that drives “us vs. them,” thinking, the kind of thinking that leads to every kind of violence men can conceive.

Utopianism within any institution can only lead to division and strife. It becomes fortress thinking, the building of walls to separate one group from another. It is the enemy of freedom and leads to endless, restrictive rules, and enforcement intended to control every behavior, even one’s thoughts. It is a worldview that enslaves populations, especially those who are not members of the elitist party in power. Remember, it was Joseph Stalin who said, “Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not allow our enemies to have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”

I say all this to set the stage for a scripture that spoke very loudly to me this week, a word from God that ought to be preached from every pulpit in our land. It is one of those obscure scriptures that compels you to stop and think, to reassess doctrine you have come to accept, and cause you to question the security of your own salvation. It is one of those hard scriptures that includes the words, “But he who endures to the end shall be saved.”

We are living in a time of great division and strife that is being driven by spiritual forces invisible to this temporal world. We are living in a time long prophesied in many scriptures of the Bible, as far back as the days of Noah, or the story of Sodom and Gomorrah. We are living in the day of Romans, chapter one when God is pouring out the poison of our own depravity upon a world that has despised His Son and turned its back on Him. The stage is being set for the grand entrance of the Man of Lawlessness and the final confrontation between good and evil. As I watch, I have seen the church fall into the lie of utopianism. I have watched the walls go up and seen the fortress gates closed, locking the “elect” inside. That’s why I am calling to you today, warning you of the danger, speaking with the very words of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

“Because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold. But he who endures to the end shall be saved.” Matthew 24:12, 13

I implore you to search yourself. Can you feel the cold creeping over you as the love of Christ fades from your heart? Are you thinking more in terms of us, vs. them? Do you seek solutions in politics and the institutions of men? If so, you have believed in a lie called Utopianism. I implore you to come out from behind the shuttered gates, come out from the fortress walls. Repent of the seat of judgement, fill yourself with the love of Christ and GO into a lost world with His gospel. GO with nothing, willing to suffer and to sacrifice, as He did, for the mission we have all been given, to share the good news that has overcome the world so that many will be saved.

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

About B. James Wilson

Author, Artist, Teacher, Apparent Illusion...
This entry was posted in Discipleship and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

