A Call to Repentance

I can’t tell you how I struggle each day with the will of God in my own life, in the affairs of nations and government, in community and even within  the visible church. We, “Christians” strive to resist what we define, by ethic and moral code as “evil”. For example, “same sex parenting”; the raising of children in homes where both parents are males, or both are females. From my view I clearly see the moral lapse, both present and future, in such an arrangement. The“Danger” alarm is blaring in my ears, but if I open my view just a little wider, I also see the moral lapse in traditional parenting. I see the staggering number of single-parent homes created by selfish ambition. Fatherless children struggling for balance, trying to become productive, mature adults. Homes where children can find no love and are forced to live in abusive relationships, or cast off to the foster care system. Children joining gangs at the cost of vicious brutality because it’s the only family they can find. Whole generations wandering aimlessly in a wilderness of moral and ethical uncertainty.
I am reminded at this point how often God has used people who’s morality I disdain to remind me of my own moral lapses and failures. I am reminded that God had a fish vomit Jonah out on the chosen path, the way to Nineveh, when Jonah had gone the other way, against God’s will. I am reminded that God used a donkey to inform Balaam that he was defying God’s will, going the wrong way. I am reminded in the face of church doctrine regarding women in the pulpit, that God raised up Deborah to be Israel’s judge, because He couldn’t get the men of Israel to act in faith. I am reminded that our Lord used a woman caught in the act of adultery to teach the Pharisees and the Priests a lesson in “Mercy”.
On the one hand I hear, loud in my ear, the visible church ranting against the moral decay in our nation and the world. On the other hand I hear God, that still, small voice, speaking in the circumstances that surround us. This voice is saying we have made such a mess of things that our children are better off in the hands of those whom we disdain on the basis of moral judgement because they, at least, will raise them on a foundation of love. That still, small voice is saying to me that the moral decay surrounding us is the result of our own failure. It’s saying that we, the church, have, for a very long time been acting like the Pharisees of old. We have been working hard to create a moral world in the flesh. We have been ranting against the Empire, forgetting that our battle is not against flesh, but against Powers and Principalities, against the dark, spiritual forces that surround us and oppose us, seeking the destruction of the very people we dare to judge.
Jesus said, “I did not come into the world to judge people, but to save them.” We, the church, in our great wisdom, have denied His power. We have grieved and quenched the Holy Spirit. We have instead relied on “horses and chariots” to do our work. We seek obedience to the law instead of “mercy”. Perhaps if we repent, they will also. Perhaps if we trust that God is true to His word, “He will heal our land.”
(ref: 2 Chron. 7:14) “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”
I speak to the church now as I echo God’s words, “… and turn from their wicked ways”.
We must examine ourselves deeply because we have wandered so far from the path of morality that I’m not sure we could any longer define it. We have rationalized so much in our lives that we are blind to our own sin; blind to the things that are grieving and quenching the Spirit within us. I often wonder if it’s me. I wonder, if I repent of that little thing, that “thorn” placed by Satan in my side, and I move forward and “sin no more”, would God begin to heal our nation? Is that all He requires? Could it be that simple? I wonder if I should try? Maybe I should. Maybe you should too. God is calling His Church to repent, to fast and pray. The sooner we get started, the better we all shall be.

About B. James Wilson

Author, Artist, Teacher, Apparent Illusion...
This entry was posted in Discipleship and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

